New York Film Festival unveils 2022 slate

New films by directors Claire Dennis, Park Chan-wook, Robin Stallund, Kelly Richardt and Paul Schrader will screen at the 60th New York Film Festival, which takes place September 1st. 30 until October. 16.

On Tuesday, Film at Lincoln Center, which hosts the annual Manhattan Film Festival, unveiled 32 films that make up the main slate. The collection features films made in 18 different countries and highlights a mix of first-time and returning filmmakers.

Several films premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, including Grand Prix winner Claire Denis “Stars at Noon”, Park Chan-wook’s “Decision to Leaf”, Palme d’Or winner Ruben Stlund’s “Triangle of Sadness” and Charlotte Wales’ appearance . Aftersun, you will play in NYFF. Carla Simon’s “Alcarràs,” which won the Golden Bear at the 72nd Berlinale, and Chunak Sen’s “All That Breathes,” which won the Sundance Film Festival’s Grand Jury Prize in the World Documentary Competition, will also make their way to the The Big Apple.

Featured on the NYFF main roster debuts are Margaret Brown, Davy Chu, Laura Citarella, Alice Diop, Mark Jenkin, Marie Kreutzer, Ryoji Otsuka, Huang Jie and Cyril Choplin. Returning filmmakers at the New York Times Festival include Todd Field, Mia Hansen-Love, Joanna Hogg, Pietro Marcelo, Christian Mongiu, Jaafar Panahi, Verina Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Albert Serra, Jerzy Skolimowski and Frederic Wiseman.

“If there’s ever been a takeaway from this year’s main menu, it’s cinema’s unlimited capacity for renewal,” said Dennis Lim, Artistic Director of the New York Film Festival. “Collectively, the films on the show indicate that this innovation takes many forms: stunning appearances, veterans inventing new tricks, and filmmakers of all stripes looking for new and surprising forms of expression and acting. We love the range and eclecticism of this group of films and are excited to share them with the masses.”

As previously announced, the festival will open “White Noise” by Noah Baumbach, Laura Poitras’ documentary “All Beauty and Bloodshed” will be the main film, and Elegance Bratton’s first feature film “The Inspection” will conclude the NYF60 Festival. James Gray’s “Armageddon Time” will be NYFF’s 60th anniversary screening event. Additional events, including streams, revivals, spotlights, and talks, will be announced in the coming weeks.

As part of its 60th anniversary celebration, the New York Film Festival will present festival screenings in all five boroughs of New York City in partnership with Alamo Drafthouse Cinema (Staten Island), Brooklyn Academy of Music (Brooklyn), Bronx Museum of Art (Bronx), and Mysles Documentary Center (Harlem) The Museum of the Moving Image (Queens). Each venue will present a selection of films throughout the festival. A full list of movies and showtimes will be announced later this month.

The NYFF’s main selection committee, chaired by Dennis Lim, includes Eugene Hernandez, Florence Mozine, K. Austin Collins, and Rachel Rosen. Regina Ricchetelli is the NYFF Programming Coordinator, and Violetta Bava, Michelle Carey, Leo Goldsmith and Gina Tillaroli serve as festival advisors. Matt Polish is an NYFF Producer.

Masks will be required for all employees, audiences and filmmakers at all times in public spaces. Proof of full vaccination is not required for an NYFF60 audience, but festival organizers say full vaccination is highly recommended.

See the full lineup below:

opening night

white noise

boss. Noah Baumbach


All beauty and bloodshed

boss. Laura Poitras

closing night


boss. Elegance Bratton

Celebrating NYFF’s 60th Anniversary

Armageddon Time

boss. James Gray

after the sun

boss. Charlotte Wells

the kars

boss. Carla Simon

It all breathes

boss. Chunak Sin


boss. Marie Kreutzer

a Husband

boss. Frederick Wiseman

D Human Corporation Fabrica

boss. Verena Paravel and Lucien Casting Taylor

Decision to leave

boss. park chan wook


boss. Margaret Brown

Ennis men

boss. Mark Jenkin


boss. Jerzy Skolimowski

immortal daughter

boss. Joanna Hogg

Mr. Bostani

boss. Paul Schrader

no bears

boss. Jaafar Panahi

Feature Film

boss. Hong Sangsu

beautiful morning

boss. Mia Hansen Love

calm down

boss. Albert Serra


boss. Christian Mungiu

Back to Seoul

boss. Davy Chu

Saint Omar

boss. Alice Diop


boss. Pietro Marcelo


boss. Kelly Richart

stars at noon

boss. Claire Dennis


boss. Hwang Ji and Ryūji Otsuka


boss. Todd Field

Trink Laukin

boss. Laura Citarella

sadness triangle

boss. Robin Stillund


boss. Cyril Choplin

walk towards

boss. Hong Sangsu

Leave a Comment