Beyonce Drops Disco-fied New Single, ‘Break My Soul’

Three hours before the announced time for the release of her new single, Beyoncé dropped the surprise “Break My Soul,” the first single from her upcoming seventh solo album “Renaissance,” and Bey jam fans have been waiting for: a driving dance track co-produced with the “Single Ladies” team of Tricky Stewart and The-Dream, with choppy hook, stick, hot tempo, and rotating tips from Big Freedia:

“Free Your Anger, Free Your Mind/Free Your Job, Free Your Time/Free Your Trade, Release Your Stress/Free Your Love, Forget the Rest.”

Also in the writing credits are Jay-Z, Adam Pigott (aka BlaqNmilD, who has worked with Drake, Quavo, Megan Thee Stallion, and many more) and Freddy Ross, aka Big Freedia, writers of Robin S’s 1993 song “Show Me Love,” which are prominently sampled in the song.

For her part, Bey has been in touch with both her comeback and disco theme for the song: the title is flipped by saying “You won’t break my soul,” and a statement of intent follows:

I left my hair because I lost my mind
Bae is back and I sleep well at night
The queen is in the front and the dom in the back
It doesn’t take any clicks but the whole clique has been cut off.”

It’s full of dancefloor-appropriate lines like: “Motivation / I’m looking for a new foundation / I’m on this new vibration / I’m building my own foundation” and frequent tips for “Everyone”.

In an apparent insult to major streaming services like Spotify and Apple Music, the song initially only appeared on Tidal — the streaming service owned by Beyoncé’s husband, Jay-Z — three hours before its announced launch time at midnight ET, and on Vevo/YouTube an hour later. or so. Beyoncé has a history in this: Her 2016 album “Lemonade” has only been available on Tidal for three years, a move that will likely cost her millions in streaming revenue.

Beyoncé announced early Thursday that the long-awaited album will arrive on July 29. The sources say diverse The source says the album will feature dance and country music pieces, with contributions from acclaimed songwriter Ryan Tedder, who co-wrote her 2008 song “Hello” as well as songs by Adele, Taylor Swift and Jonas Bruce. and his own group, OneRepublic. Also reportedly co-starring is Raphael Sadek, who has made songs for Mary J. Blige, D’Angelo, Stevie Wonder, John Legend, and Andra Day in addition to his excellent solo albums, and executive producer “A Seat at the Table,” Beyoncé’s critically acclaimed sister Solange album of 2016.

It was not clear whether country songs would appear as a separate album or as part of the first edition of “Renaissance”. Country isn’t new terrain for the singer: “Daddy Lessons,” from 2016’s “Lemonade,” is heavy on wang and covered in chicks (then known as Dixie Chicks).

Fans have already scoured information that the album will contain 16 tracks, and the fact that it is a multi-part release is evident from the face that it has been called “Act 1.” Beyoncé’s website also offered pre-orders on four different packaged album sets, “Pose” bills 1-4 including CD, T-shirt and box. However, since they all ship on album release day, they’re likely just different packages for “Act 1.”

The singer sounded the alarm that something was coming up earlier this month, when she wiped out her social media accounts, which, as evidence of a lack of profile pictures, have not been completely re-housed.

Beyoncé has already released four albums since her 2016 blockbuster release “Lemonade,” though none are complete solo albums for Beyoncé: In 2018, she dropped Everything Love, a team with husband Jay-Z under the name Carters; In April of 2019, she released “Homecoming,” the album of her breakthrough 2018 performance at Coachella, which she was accompanied by a full marching band (which was also released as a special on Netflix as part of a $60 million deal; she followed that summer with an album “The Lion King: The Gift,” a companion album to the Disney movie that included many new songs from them – featuring contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Donald Glover and others – as well as songs featuring 070 Shake, Tierra Whack, and African artists such as Burna Boy, Mr. Eazi, Tiwa Savage, and others; a deluxe edition of this album featuring three additional tracks was released a year later.

Leave a Comment